The GNOO  BLAS^T  2016  SPORTS  SEDAN  CHAMPION is   Michael  Kulig.

R1 11 June French's Fief QR Stephen Annett Chevrolet  Corvette
R2 12 June St Mary's Trophy QR Geoff  Taunton MARC 
R3 16 July Volkers to the Max LP Michael Kulig Chev Monte Carlo
R4 17 July Mich El More LP Michael Kulig Chev Monte Carlo
R5 15 Oct  Falcon ER 30 QR Michael Kulig Chev Monte Carlo
R6 16 Oct Fairmont "41" QR Geoff  Taunton MARC 



Round 1 - French's Fief


Round 2 - St Mary’s Trophy

The St Mary’s Trophy race is held annually at the Goodwood motor racing circuit in England as part of the “Goodwood Festival of Speed”. In the first race for the 2006 St Mary’s Trophy Peter Brock had qualified 5th and finished 4th in his Holden 48-215 (#05). Sadly this race was Peter Brock’s last motor race.

Round 3 - Volkers To The Max

Max Volkers started racing in 1956 in a VW but quickly progressed to Holdens where his speed and success then drew the attention of Ford who provided Max with a Ford Cortina GT. A Lotus Cortina followed and Max fought many memorable battles with Brian Michelmore’s Lotus Cortina. After the Lotus Cortina Max drove a variety of Ford Falcon GT’s, Holden Monaros and a Ford Capri Sports Sedan. He drove a HWM Jaguar in the 1962 Australian GT Championship at Lakeside and competed in three Tasman Series races in an MRC Lotus. Max was a stalwart of Australian motor racing and claims his greatest race was finishing 4th in the first Australian Touring Car Championship at Orange in 1960, being the first Holden home behind the three Jaguars and beating all the other Holdens.

Sports Sedan - Top 10 Point Scores after 6 Rounds:   
Name Points
Michael Kulig 45
George Kulig 38
Geoff Taunton 37
Dwayn Taylor 27
Tony Saint 26
Travis Edwards 24
Anthony Maxwell 20
Justin Gardner 17
Tim Tritton 17
Callum Whatmore 15


Round 4 - Mich El More


Round 5 - Fairmont “41”

In April 1967 Ford Australia entered a Ford Fairmont XR  V8 in the Surfers Paradise 4-Hour touring car race.  Driven by Frank Matich and Harry Firth it finished 2nd.  This Fairmont (race number 41) became Australia’s first home-grown V8 touring car, and wasthe basis for the Ford Falcon GT which won the 1967 Bathurst “500” driven by Harry Firth and Fred Gibson. Fairmont #41 was the genesis of Australian V8 Supercar racing.  The Holden Monaro GTS V8 did not arrive until July 1968. 

Round 6 - Falcon ER 30

The first Ford Falcon to race in Australia competed on 17 September, 1960 at the Middle Ridge circuit at Toowoomba Qld. Entered and driven by the local Ford dealer Edsel Falconer, dealer principal of Falconer Motors, it placed 4th on its debut. On this day Falcon (race number 30) started the long history of Ford Falcon successes in Australian motor racing.


Header photo:
0435 031 824


Privacy Statement/Terms of Use