The inaugural winner of the Gnoo Blas^t Australian Sports Car Championship 2016 was Alex Kenny.

The 2016 Gnoo Blas^t Australian Sports Car Championship will be run over 6 rounds as follows:

R1 2 April Bill Pitt Trophy LP Winner - Alex Kenny Chiron LMP3
R2 3 April Glyn Scott Gprix LP Winner - Alex Kenny Chiron LMP3
R3 30 April Vitesse Hyeres QR Winner - Alex Kenny Chiron LMP3
R4 1 May Montlhery 660 QR Phil Holzberger Radical SR8
R5 9 July The Jolly Decca LP Winner - Alex Kenny Chiron LMP3
R6 10 July Matich SR 87 LP Winner - Alex Kenny Chiron LMP3


Rund 1 - Bill Pitt Trophy

Queenslander Bill Pitt is one of Australia’s true motor racing legends. He won, along with co-drivers Geordie Anderson and Charlie Swinburne, Australia’s first 24 Hour car race at Mt Druitt in Jan 1954 in a Jaguar XK 120 FHC. He finished 11th in the 1954 Australian G.P. at Southport driving an Anderson-Jaguar which was an XK 120 modified as an open wheeler.
 A punctured tyre miles from the pits (it was a long circuit) cost Bill 15 minutes  and dropped him from a certain 3rd place and possible 2nd place finish behind winner Lex Davison in his HWM-Jaguar. A Jaguar D-type followed in 1956 and Bill often competed in CAMS Gold Star events to have some serious competition. Unfortunately because the D-type was not an open wheeler, Bill was awarded no championship points no matter how well he did. Bill came 2nd in the inaugural Australian Touring Car Championship in 1960 driving a Jaguar 3.4 sedan.  He won the ATCC at Lowood in 1961 in the same car and was 2nd again in the ATCC at Longford in 1962 again in the 3.4 Jaguar. That’s a 100% finish rate, with a 33% win rate and 67% second place rate.


Round 2 - Glyn Scott Gprix

Glyn Scott was Queensland’s leading open-wheeler and sports car racer in the 1960’s. Starting with Repco Holden open wheel specials, a progression of open-wheelers, Cooper_Climax, Lotus 20, Lotus 27, Bowin P3 FVA, and Elfin 600 Waggott followed, complemented by Lotus 15 and Lotus 23B sports cars.  Zenith blue cars with # 20 were Glyn’s hallmark signature. Glyn contested 3 “Surfers Paradise 12 Hour” sports car races, finishing 10th in 1966 in an E-Type Jaguar with Bryan Thomson, 3rd in 1967 in a Porsche 906 Spyder with Alan Hamilton followed by a retirement when leading in a Matich SR3-Repco V8 with Frank Matich in 1968. The Zenith blue Lotus 23B #20 defined Glyn’s sports car racing career.


Round 3 - Vitesse Hyeres

Jack Brabham’s first race in Europe was the 12 Hour Sports Car race  held at Hyeres (pronounced ee-air) in the south of France on 29 May 1955. Driving an Aston Martin DB3S with Tom Sulman, they finished 4th in a stirling display by the Kangaroo Stable of 3 Aston Martins finishing 2nd, 3rd and 4th.
Australian Sports Car Championship Top 10 Point Scores after 6 Rounds:
Name Vehicle Points
Alex Kenny Chiron 54
David Barram Chiron 45
Phil Holzberger Radical 43
Grant Green Radical 40
Simon Cilento Radical 28
Neville McKay Mallock 25
Matthew Vanderburg Minetti 20
Neil Kenny Juno 17
David Rodgie JMW 16
Brian Pettit Minetti 14



Round 4 - Montlhery 660

Jack Brabham’s last race in Europe was the “PARIS  1000 KMS” at Montlhery in France on 18 Oct 1970.  Driving a Matra 660 V12 sports racing prototype with Francois Cevert  they drove to a decisive win, a fitting finale to close Jack’s outstanding career.


Round 5 - The Jolly Decca


Round 6 - Matich SR 87

Header photo:
0435 031 824


Privacy Statement/Terms of Use